11,700 sleepless nights

February 16, 2006

“Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s insomnia.”

Since that statement is not Biblical, maybe I should not feel guilty for wishing I were plagued like this guy.  Some would debate whether this was a disorder or a blessing.  I am a tremendous advocate of sufficient sleep, but only as necessary.  If I thought I could function as effectively without sacrificing any mental acuity while not having to give up the hours to rest, then I would hope that I would.  However, this man’s line of work is more labor intensive than it is mentally exhausting.  I wonder why watching TV isn’t as effective as sleeping.  You should be able to get both the mental and physical rest while watching the evening sitcoms as you do while sleeping.  In fact, I believe that with the creativity of dreams, that your mind is actually much more engaged in the middle of the night than in the middle of Seinfeld.
The friend that sent me the link for this article mentioned that he wouldn’t mind giving up eating as a necessity.  I, on the other hand, am much more fond of eating…moreso to my detriment.

2 Responses to “11,700 sleepless nights”

  1. mankydown said

    Interesting. Would you not prefer more blogging time though?

  2. Mom said

    I don’t know how I feel about this whole thing. I’m a night owl. I like staying up and reading until the wee hours of the morning, and then I only go to sleep because I know that I have to get up in the morning.

    On the other hand, if I don’t have an alarm to wake me, I’ll sleep until 10-11 o’clock. And then, unless I make myself, I could stay in bed all day…sleeping, reading, watching TV, knitting, whatever.

    So, what am I? Content to stay up all hours of the night, or content to sleep all hours of the day. Just content to be in whatever state I find myself….I guess.

Leave a Reply

