When People are Big and God is Small

February 11, 2006

WhenPeople.gifI picked this book up about 6 years ago.  I came across a few top # lists this year in which this book was featured.  I decided I would pull it out of the box (I have no current shelves) and give it a read.  I had previously knocked out about half of it, and I spent an hour refreshing myself on what I had previously read (I had also marked it up considerably), and then set out to finish it.

When People are Big and God is Small is a good book.  It is not a social argument, but it is very scripturally based.  Our culture turns to often to pop-psychology, when God has “given us everything we need for life and godliness.”  The author, Edward T. Welch, calls us to find our self-worth in God.  God loves us and that can be all that matters.  If we do what is right, we do not need to fear what man can do to us.  We can find our security in solely the opinion of God.  He demonstrates many symptoms of fearing man and gives practical steps to overcoming this sin.

This is a useful book, and a wonderful resource to anyone involved with counseling.  I will certainly keep it close as I am faced with different life challenges or encounter others who are.  It is not the most entertaining and dynamic book, but it has tremendous content.  I recommend this book to anyone who may struggle with Peer Pressure, Codependency, or self-esteem.

Leave a Reply

