The Barbarian Way

February 11, 2006

the barbarian way.jpgErwin Raphael McManus (what a cool name) serves as lead pastor and cultural architect at Mosiac (what a cool church name). He has written a few books, but I just finished one of his most recent, The Barbarian Way.

I was not sure what to expect when I started this book. Its size is somewhere between a “gift” book and a “real” book. I thought it was going to be a glorified version of the former, but it ended up being closer to the latter in content.

The Barbarian Way is a challenge to live differently. Why is it that the lives of Christians is often indistinguishable from the life of the heathen. He calls us to dream big and follow our dreams (in a Christian realm). Sacrifice is necessary; love is imperative. There is little in the book that I did not know, but it was written to make me realize that what I know with my head can be known in my life.

This was an excellent read and I recommend it to all (whether in leadership or not). You will just wish that you could live the life that he writes about. In the end, I hope you are changed, and are at least one step closer to the life God wants you to live.

Leave a Reply

