Oh look, a chicken!

January 16, 2006

I will finish the book, God Is Here, today.  This book, written by Steve Case, is a modern telling of Brother Lawrence’s The Practice of the Presence of God.  I received my copy through Relevant Network, and the book is published by Relevant Books.

I have mixed feelings on recommending the book.  The book has little meat to it.  I really didn’t learn anything new, and I wasn’t challenged or stretched in any way.  However, for someone new to Christianity, they might really get something out of it.  I would recommend most, however, to simply pick up and read the original by Brother Lawrence.

The book is under 200 pages, and could probably have been printed on half that.  The font is not small, and the margins are exceptionally large (as if I might want to jot something down there).  I will finish the book today, because I have challenged myself to do so, although I am not entirely interested at this point.

Although I have not been singing this books praises, I did find an illustration relevant to my life.  The author is sharing a prayer written by a friend of his (Bob in Ohio):

God, maker of heaven and earth, help me to stay focused on the thi-… oh look, a chicken!

Focus, focus, focus!  Focus is something I lack much of the day.  I am too easily distracted.  It bothers my wife much of the time when I close my office door, but the truth is for me to think, I cannot have the little noises drifting in.  It is not that they are making so much noise and distraction, it is more a problem on my end.  During the midst of writing this post, my mind has wandered to a minimum of 10 other things.

I am really endeavoring to read more this year.  To do so, I am going to have to find better focus.  This prayer is designed to help us remain focused on God, and “the things that are important to You. Amen.”  Am I the only one with this problem?  I think I have more to say, but my mind has wandered and I have lost all stream of thought, so I will end this post.

One Response to “Oh look, a chicken!”

  1. Easily distracted? Who? Me? Why, this morning I have been at the office less than 30 minutes and I’ve been all around the computer; one thing reminding me to do another thing, going there to do that and forgetting what I was doing before. You are your mother’s son, in that respect. On the other hand, I do have a knack for multi-tasking, which I think is easier for women than it is for me. Not to be sexist, but God probably made women that way so they could more easily take care of children and run a household. I can easily read a magazine and watch TV and I could probably knit at the same time, if I had enough hands. I do, however, empathize with the wandering mind. Does anyone else out there find that their mind wanders more in church than anywhere else? Well, I’ve got to get back to work….

Leave a Reply

