Ordering Your Private World, Pt. 3

January 9, 2006

I have now finished this book for the second time. For my own sake, I want to record some of the challenges I faced in the last half of the book.

The author challenges Christians to be a thinking people. “Some Christians appear to be afraid to think,” he says. I don’t want to fall into that category. I find myself reading tremendous amounts of material, and all things that require a certain level of concentration (except for maybe the latest Grisham novel). However, I don’t feel that I think enough. I want to wrestle with more ideas and challenging thoughts.

I have recently enjoyed reading the conversation on Intelligent Design going on over at Mere-Orthodoxy (I suggest starting with the first post on January 2 and working your way up. Specifically be sure to read the comments on each post.). However, I feel so inadequate to enter the conversation. I am a smart guy, but I have not practiced the art of thinking as much as I should. I follow no less than 20 blogs, as well as reading numerous news outlets. I am currently in the midst of at least 6 non-fiction books. However, these are all examples of reading other people’s thoughts; I want to think for myself.

This year, I will endeavor to think more.

Leave a Reply

